Posted by: Dorianne Cotter-Lockard | 12 August 2008

The “Academy”

This conference is huge (several thousand attendees), so I’m just getting the lay of the land. However, I have some observations already, being a veteran conference attendee for technology leadership conferences. The Academy is definitely a “club” or society with a highly entrenched political system. Despite this characteristic, there is a tremendous amount of networking going on, which is wonderful. I have been meeting, in my opinion, some fantastic people, just by attending the sessions that truly interest me. We have exchanged emails and business cards and I intend to follow up with these people with dialog and opportunities to collaborate on research projects.

I attended a couple of sessions that had celebrity speakers. I tried to approach one of them because I really liked his talk (which was about leaders and spirituality), who wouldn’t give me the time of day. I had heard that many faculty will collaborate with younger researchers and co-author papers. But it appears to be difficult to “break in” to the esteemed faculty of the Academy. Oh well, his loss…

I also see many esteemed professors walking around with their doctoral student entourage. Interestingly, I’ve seen a couple of Fielding faculty, but at least one of them does not advertise his Fielding association. He has a different university on his name tag and in the program.

Then there is a whole focus on faculty recruitment for newly minted PhD’s. I don’t think they’d be interested in a newly minted baby boomer PhD. There’s a lot of high anxiety in the students who are going through that process.

Just a few observations. My next post will be about some of the highlights of sessions that I attended.

Responses

  1. Hi Dorianne,

    It is good to see some updates on your blog. Sounds like wonderful and interesting experience you are having at the conference. It would be great to meet when you are back in town and share each others experiences.

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

