Posted by: Dorianne Cotter-Lockard | 18 February 2008

Writing my first grant proposal

It’s what all PhD students that are serious about research need to learn about: writing a research grant proposal. I wrote my first one last week. It was a Fielding University Research Grant. The proposal format was very specific, so all I had to do was follow the format. The maximum amount is $1,000 and that’s the amount for which I applied. These were the required pieces of information:
TITLE:
AUTHOR:
PROGRAM:
PROPOSAL STATUS:
PREVIOUS FUNDING:
AMOUNT REQUESTED:
STUDENT ID:
1. ABSTRACT:
2. PURPOSE:
3. METHODS:
4. ANTICIPATED OUTCOMES:
5. BUDGET:
6. SCHEDULE:
7. REPORT DATE:
8. DISSEMINATION PLAN:
9. SESSION PRESENTATION:
10. STUDENT USE:
11. IRB APPROVAL:
12. FACULTY SUPPORT:
13. REFERENCES:

I had much of the information already from my IRB proposal and so I cut/pasted it. Then I had to develop the budget. I created a detailed budget that included budget assumptions. I hope they were impressed with it, I think most graduate students don’t know how to develop detailed budgets, but my experience as an executive has given me this skill at an expert level. The dissemination plan presented a little bit of a challenge. I had to think about the journals in which I would consider publishing my results. I included The Journal of Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Human Studies, Journal of Transpersonal Psychology, and the Academy of Management Journal. I don’t know if these are the right ones, but I chose them based on my literature search on the topic of consciousness and meditation.

I found the items that are and aren’t allowed in the budget of peculiar interest. You can include books that are directly related to the research methods but not books related to the research topic. You cannot include software that you might need to analyze the research data. I did include the digital voice recorder that I will use for interviews, though I’m not sure it will fly.

I included transcription fees, mailing costs, travel related to interviews and phone call charges, as well as $323 worth of research methods books. Will post when I find out whether I got a grant……

Responses

  1. You can view my posts on consciousness by viewing my categories, and choosing “consciousness” listed at the bottom of my blog post page, or choose “consciousness” in the tag cloud at the bottom right sidebar of my blog. I’ve posted several excerpts from consciousness papers in my posts.

  2. Where can I see what you are doing on consciousness? Just curious because I am doing an in depth for a 702 KA on Consciousness and the Internet.

  3. […] Great news – I was awarded a grant from my school, Fielding Graduate University! See my previous post about the grant proposal process – I applied for a $1,000 grant and recieved a grant for $658.94!! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

