Posted by: Dorianne Cotter-Lockard | 3 September 2007

Where to start?

I am just embarking on my Fielding Graduate University PhD program in Human and Organizational Development. I’m really excited about this journey as I have dreamed about this for over 15 years! I recently resigned from my executive position as Managing Director, Countrywide Financial Corp. Enterprise Applications and Chief Technology Officer, Countrywide Loan Administration so I can have the flexibility to pursue my dream. I had a great experience at Countrywide, loved the people and what I did there as a leader, and like the hiker’s mantra, feel like I “left the place in better shape than when I arrived” eight years ago. I left at the perfect time, just before all of the recent sub-prime market related troubles. A voice inside me (I call it “God”) kept saying to leave ASAP!

I will be posting my experiences as a student, as well as how it affects the rest of my life. I am married to a pastor at the Westlake Church of Religious Science. He is very supportive of my move and we are both excited about creating a life together that allows our highest level of creativity to have great impact on humankind. My daughter, who is in 8th grade, will graduate high school about the same time I earn my PhD. We have a very close relationship and I intend to keep it that way through this process. Family is very important to me, as is my spiritual grounding (more on that another time).

By the way, I’m new to blogging……so cut me some slack and helpful suggestions are welcome……I hereby give full credit to my sister Debby for my blog title.  She’s got a great blog that focuses on field artwork and bird/wildlife art: “Drawing the Motmot

Leave a Reply

Categories

